Are You Google-able?

The other day, I came across a blog post about how important it is for writers to be Google-able:

http://jamigold.com/2011/06/branding-101-be-google-able/

Am I Google-able? I wondered. In other words, will a Google search of my name turn up me or someone else? Are there, in fact, any other Kirsten Loprestis in the universe?

And so I did it. I Googled myself. It felt strange, vain, more than a little bit silly, but I went ahead with it. You can probably guess what happened, but I’ll tell you anyway. I came up. Just me. There was my Website, my Facebook profile, my Twitter feed, what I paid for my house, etc. Hooray!  It looked like I would not have to change my name, or as the blog post suggested, write with a pen one.

I didn’t have to worry about being Google-able. I prepared to log off the Internet, but before I did, I engaged in one more time waster – I Googled the title of my thus far unpublished book, Bright Coin Moon. This search, I have to admit was far more interesting. I spent the next ten minutes or so reading a spell someone had posted to draw wealth using a coin, the moon, and a bowl of moonlit water, then I noticed this question on Wiki Answers:

What does the full moon is a bright coin in the night mean?

Here is the thoughtful Wiki answer someone posted:  It means the moon is really big but your mom is a f ** b****

Think they got an expert to answer that one?

8 thoughts on “Are You Google-able?

  1. Thanks for the link, Kirsten. Glad to hear that you won’t have any problems being Google-able. (Although don’t you hate that house payment one? I have a love/hate relationship with Google.) 🙂

  2. My blog was the first thing that came up when I Googled my name – whew! I’ll have to check once I’ve come up with a title for my book and see what shows up in a search for that. Hopefully Wiki Answers won’t be too bad!

  3. It’s good that you are officially google-able! Now when you are a famous NYT bestselling author, you won’t have to worry about whether or not your name shows up first 😉

  4. Came across this post because I was searching your blog to see if you’ve posted about self publishing. I was wondering if you’ve ever considered it?

    When I google my name, I get my blog, twitter feed, Facebook page and Linked In profile (which I really need to update). But I do wonder whether everyone gets the same results or whether Google gives me those pages because I’ve visited them so thinks that’s what I’m looking for? I guess I could clear my internet history and then try it, but I’m not curious enough to bother. 🙂

    • Hmm. I hadn’t thought about Google giving different search results. I haven’t considered or posted about self publishing, sorry. I do have some blogging friends who have done it, though, and have had success with it. Good luck with whatever you choose.

Leave a Reply

