Cat’s Eye Marbles and Country Shops

When I was in Tennessee last weekend, I found this jar of old marbles at a little country shop. I thought at once of a novel  I love, Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood. If you haven’t read it, the protagonist’s brother buries a jar just like it in the mud next to a creek.

Anyway, I love that book so much I had to buy the marbles. I’m going to give them to my father as a kind of second birthday present. (He used to play with marbles as a boy, and a man at the store who was about his age identified them as the right decade.) I’m hoping that when he sees them, he remembers some little thing from his childhood.

Here’s a photo of the marbles up close. Don’t they look magical?

Here are a couple more photos from the trip:

The cabin we stayed at. Wouldn't this be a great place to write?

A nearby stream

21 thoughts on “Cat’s Eye Marbles and Country Shops

  1. That cabin IS a great place to write!

    I love marbles, too. I have a collection that used to belong to my great-grandfather. So many interesting colors and sizes to marbles back then. It’s fun to compare them to the marbles of my childhood and today.

  2. We used to play with marbles that looked just like those! I’ll bet your dad will love them. And I want to go to there. I miss the east so bad sometimes–the lush, dense greenery and moist air.
    Have a great weekend!!

  3. I not to mention my guys happened to be following the nice solutions found on the blog and so instantly developed a terrible suspicion I had not expressed respect to the web blog owner for those tips. Those guys are actually for this reason warmed to see them and already have actually been making the most of them. Thank you for indeed being so accommodating and then for picking this kind of brilliant issues millions of individuals are really eager to know about. My sincere apologies for not expressing appreciation to earlier.

Leave a Reply

