Pottermore

If you’ve been following my blog, you know that my daughter and I solved the Magic Quill Challenge and became Beta users of  Pottermore. Well, we finally got in, and I have to say, it’s pretty fun. We spent half the day Saturday collecting items for our trunk, churning up potions, and casting spells.

Pottermore is set up much like the books. When we logged in, a map popped up. We clicked on Chapter 1 and watched baby Harry arrive at the Dursley’s house. We found and read his welcome to Hogwarts letter, then we headed to Diagon Alley to shop. We bought books, magic supplies and picked our pet, a small striped cat. Next, we went to Ollivander’s Wand Shop. We answered a short questionnaire and received a spruce wand (surprisingly flexible) with a Phoenix feather core.

After that, we answered another short questionnaire and let the magic hat sort us into a house. We got Hufflepuff. This was not surprising, my daughter told me, because of the way we answered the question about animals. Hufflepuffs, she insisted, love animals. And Hufflepuffs are like hedgehogs. They’re small, but you don’t want to mess with them. Being small, this resonated with her in a big way. She assured me that we had been placed in the perfect house.

Now that we were in a house, we set about earning points for it. Well, to tell you the absolute truth, we lost some at first. We mixed a potion wrong and exploded our cauldron, resulting in -10 points for Hufflepuff. (Not great, since Hufflepuff was in last place to begin with.) Luckily, we earned it back when we figured out what we were doing and went on to earn 500 points for our house. This part was really fun. I began to feel some team spirit as we watched our points added to the overall total.

 How about you? Anyone else gotten on to Pottermore? If not, do you plan to join when they open it up to everyone?

27 thoughts on “Pottermore

  1. Sounds like fun! I especially like your daughter’s example of hedgehogs – I’ll have to remember that as my small daughter grows older and starts getting teased about her tiny stature.

  2. That sounds like so much fun! I’ve heard good things about Pottermore. I’ll have to jump on the bandwagon sooner or later. I’m thinking I would like to pick a pet toad.

  3. Sounds like so much fun, Kirsten! Sadly, I am making myself stay away from Pottermore. Another online distraction is the LAST thing I need. It sounds way too awesome NOT to be addictive!

  4. That sounds like a lot of fun. I think it’s so cute that your daughter assured you that y’all are in the right house. Such a fun activity for y’all to do together

  5. Boy, was I ever sad when the Harry Potter books ended. What a world! What an experience! Part of what made it so wonderful was that so many people all over the world were enjoying the ride together. It felt so energizing, so alive, so thrilling. Then when the last movie came out, I was even sadder because it really was all at an end. I think it’s really hard to explain to non-Harry Potter fans why it’s such a fantastic thing. I’m not obsessed by any means, but I enjoyed the books and movies immensely.

    I wanted to get in with the initial users of the Pottermore site, but I was so busy. It’ll be fun to check it out and see everything Rowling put on there. What a fun post reading about you and your daughter having fun at Pottermore!

  6. I was sad when the last movie came out, too. It’s such a great series! There is some new writing on the Pottermore sight. I didn’t go into it much because my daughter mostly wanted to play the games, but if you liked the series, you’ll probably enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

