Paper Hangover’s Friday Fives

It’s Friday, and the folks over at Paper Hangover want to know: What are Your Five Favorite Childhood Books? Here are mine:

1. Tom’s Midnight Garden by Phillipa Pearce

I absolutely loved this book as a child. It’s about time travel, a boy/ girl friendship, and a fanciful garden.

2. Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

The illustrations are incredible!

3. The Witch Family by Eleanor Estes

I’m reading this tale of a banished Witch to my 6-year-old daughter right now, and it’s every bit as good as I remembered.

4. Snow Treasure by Marie Mcswigan

The story of a brave group of Norwegian children who smuggle gold out of their country on their sleds.

5. The Mitten by Jan Brett

A charming story of a little boy who loses his mitten and the odd group of animals who find shelter in it.

How about you? What are your favorites?

26 thoughts on “Paper Hangover’s Friday Fives

  1. I totally remember Snow Treasure, but forgot about it until you mentioned it. I can actually even picture the cover right now. Oddly, I didn’t read Tom’s Midnight Garden or Where the Wild Things Are until I was an adult. Great list 🙂

  2. I loved THE PIGGY IN THE PUDDLE; BEAST IN THE BATHTUB, THE PAIN AND THE GREAT ONE; OX-CART MAN; aaaaand THE PUPPY WHO WANTED A BOY. But there are so many great children’s books out there!

  3. I ordered two of those yesterday – one after you recommended it on Twitter! I’m on such a childhood-books kick right now, this was just the post I needed to see 🙂

  4. Where the Wild Things Are is a fantastic choice! I’ve always loved that book. Even the movie, which I had doubts about going in, turned out to be completely charming. And you’re right: the illustrations are beautiful!

  5. The Mitten definitely makes my list, too! The Lorax was a favorite. Oh, there’s too many! I just went through a bunch of my kids’ books with the intention of thinning out the stack. That’s when I realized I may have an unhealthy addiction to children’s books.

Leave a Reply

