Friday Five

Here’s what I’ve been up to lately in writing:

1. I signed up for an online poetry class. When I won the YA Discovery Contest, Gotham Writing Workshop offered me a free class, but I was too busy to sign up until now.

2. Someone hacked into my writing website. Since my husband originally set the site up for me,  the hacker was able to access his e-mail account through it. The saying, no good deed goes unrewarded, certainly seems true in this case. His e-mail ended up running on auto-pilot for most of the weekend, spamming his contacts with the following message:

Hi friend, 

 I never knew I could be own boss until I tried it.

Bye. 

Who was the first person it went to? You guessed it, his boss.

Sorry, Hon.

3. I have started reading a new writing book. It’s called Writing the Fire! Yoga and the Art of Making Your Words Come Alive. A blogging friend of mine recommended it, and it’s wonderful! You guys always have the best book suggestions!

4. I took the kids to see Jan Brett read at Wegmans. Yes, the supermarket! It seemed like an odd venue to me, but Wegmans did a good job with it, setting it up in the seasonal aisle and sectioning the kids off so they could see.

5.  I have begun my Christmas shopping. Books for everyone! Hooray!

Have a great weekend everyone!

28 thoughts on “Friday Five

  1. Hi Kirsten, oh that stinks about the hacker. 😦 I’m glad you’re enjoying Writing the Fire. I love Gail Sher. She has a couple of other books. I’ve found some of her prompts and practices are really fun with middle school students. Happy weekend!

  2. I haven’t written a poem since… I can’t remember. Oh wait, I just did. I wrote my now-husband a poem for our six-months-of-being-together anniversary. Ahh, young love… 🙂

    Hope you gets heaps from the class!

  3. Okay, I’ve never heard of “Writing the Fire! Yoga and the Art of Making Your Words Come Alive” but I clearly NEED to read it. I love my yoga and I love my writing… who would’ve thought the two could come together? Thanks for the rec!

  4. I’m so glad that hacker got what he/she deserved. Someone once hacked into my email and sent out over 300 emails about selling a nikon camera to everyone. I was so frustrated. I guess I should have been thankful that they weren’t trying to sell something x-rated or I would really have had some explaining to do!

  5. I like the Friday Five idea. That’s great about the online poetry class! Good luck. Post some poetry for your blog!
    That’s terrible about the hacker. I don’t really understand why someone would want to mess with other people’s things, especially for no reason at all. Good thing the hacker got a taste of his/her own medicine.
    I hope all of your Christmas shopping gets done quickly. I started early and finished early and am thankful that I did!
    Take care, I’ll be checking back soon!

    • You’re smart to shop early. I really should try it next year. I had to park about a mile away from the entrance to the mall the other day, and someone almost smashed into me when I was pulling out.

  6. Kirsten! Do you know how wonderful you are?!!! I just have to tell you that you make my day all the time with all your comments on my blog! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    And a huge congrats on winning the YA Discovery Contest! I’ve read about your book BRIGHT COIN MOON on your website and it sounds fascinating! I can’t wait to read it!

  7. Lol! I can totally relate to the hacker thing. My hubby emailed his password to a hacker disguised as Google. This particular hacker wanted money, stating that my hubby was stuck overseas and had lost his wallet. It was an ordeal, we even contacted the FBI because my DH thought he’d stored all of our social security numbers on some tax file in his email acct. Ugh. Anyway, grats on the YA Discovery Contest, Kirsten! 🙂

Leave a Reply

