Paper Hangover’s Friday Fives

It’s Friday, and the folks over at Paper Hangover want to know: What are Your Five Favorite Contemporary YA Novels? Here are mine:

1. Chime by Franny Billingsley

This one is not technically contemporary, but I love this book so much I feel like I have to mention it.

2. Sky Bridge by Laura Pritchett

A touching, beautifully written book about a girl who agrees to raise her sister’s child.

3. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

This story of a Native American teen is probably my all time favorite YA book.

4. Dreamland by Sarah Dessen

An unforgettable novel about a teenage girl involved with the wrong boy.

5. What I Saw and How I Lied by Judy Blundell

Again, not technically contemporary, but I already broke the rule, so why not?

How about you? What are your favorites?

19 thoughts on “Paper Hangover’s Friday Fives

  1. Dreamland is my FAVORITE Sarah D. book. I feel like it changed her voice in such a good way. And yes to Sherman Alexie. Every day of the week, I’ll read anything he writes.

  2. Um. Boy, I haven’t even read many YA novels lately, they’re so filled with Twilight and Inheritance trash. The only three that I like that I can think of are Skulduggery Pleasant, the Hunger Games, and Divergent.

  3. I really need to read CHIME. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about it! I’ve been on a middle grade kick lately, so I don’t have any YA novels to offer up~ thanks for the list of yours! I’ll check them out 🙂

  4. Wow, I haven’t read any of those … clearly I do not read enough contemporary YA fic! In fact, I can’t think of any contemporary YA that I love enough to mark as favorites.

  5. I can’t wait to read Alexie’s book. I’ve heard such great things about it. I’ll have to check out the other books too.
    Also, I seriously considered the laptop over the bathtub until my Reasonable Side convinced the rest of me how unsafe it is. But I am known to put my laptop on a chair next to the bathtub so I can critique. But I have to sit sideways in the tub, so it wouldn’t work for long bouts of writing (not too comfortable).
    I find it hilarious that not only did someone actually do it, but that they took a picture of it and posted it on the interwebz.

  6. Oh, Sherman Alexie is amazing. I can’t believe I forgot to include him in my favorite contemporaries! Oh well, a list of five will never cover all the favorites, so I’m glad at least someone picked him 🙂

  7. Ha! I love that you broke the rules and included CHIME. Isn’t that book amazing?! Love your other picks as well. DREAMLAND is one of my favorite Sarah Dessen novels, and I adore Sherman Alexie as well. Have you read JELLICOE ROAD? It’s my very favorite YA contemp!

  8. You have read the only Sarah Dessen book I haven’t read. I don’t even recognize the title. My favorite of hers is THIS LULLABYE.

Leave a Reply

