Five for Friday

1. My writing group had a fantastic meeting/dinner at Macaroni Grill to celebrate the inclusion of one of our members, Colleen Kearney Rich, in Amazing Graces: Yet Another Collection of Fiction by Washington Area Women. Congratulations also went out to another one of our members, Emily Shearer, who recently placed two poems in online journals. Hooray everyone!

2. I won a book this week on Crista Desir’s blog. It’s the The Pull of Gravity by Gae Polisner, and it looks fantastic.

3. I’m currently reading The Fault in our Stars by John Green. I’m about two-thirds through it right now, and I’m nervous. I’m getting attached to the characters, and I’m pretty sure it’s going to be heartbreaking.

4. My new e-reader has caused me to buy two books twice. This has to be good for the industry. Here’s how it happened:

I purchased the next Rick Riordan book for my daughter on my e-reader because she HAD TO HAVE IT. After I bought it, we attended the book fair at her elementary school, and I told her she could pick out three books. Well, guess what she HAD TO HAVE now? The same book, but in paper form. Why? The teacher did not like the idea of her bringing my e-reader to school to read at silent reading time. Well, I’d told her she could pick her books without any input from me, so now I was trapped. I bought the same book, again. She was pretty happy with the situation. She took the paper book to school and read the e-book at home, but now, I had no e-reader. I went to the bookstore to pick out a paper book for myself, but what I really wanted was the book I had been reading on the e-reader. The trip ended with me in line, buying the paper version of the book I had already bought on the e-reader.

5.For you poets out there, I’ve discovered an interesting scansion site. It’s called For Better For Verse. I’ve worked through about fifteen of the poems on it. It’s way more fun than you would think.

Have a great weekend everyone!

8 thoughts on “Five for Friday

  1. Ha that’s funny! I’ve bought books twice too – I recently bought THE NIGHT CIRCUS on Kindle and loved it so much I bought the hardcover too – ‘real’ books have always been my favourite and the colours and paper on this one looked so gorgeous.

  2. TFIOS IS awesome and heartbreaking. You’re probably done with it by now and have discovered that for yourself, but I’m just saying.
    Yay for winning books! They’re probably the best things to win, imo.

  3. I want to read The Fault in Our Stars. Keep me posted. I have found I am a little bit addicted to books on CD. I find I’m calmer in the car when sitting in traffic if someone is telling me a story. The Fairfax County Public Library has been very cooperative with my CD needs so far.

Leave a Reply

