YA Highway Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

This week’s topic: Back to school time! What’s your favorite book that you had to read for a class?

I was one of the people who actually read every one of the books I was assigned to read for class, so I have a large number to choose from. It took me awhile to make a decision, but I think I’m going to pick Housekeeping by Marylyn Robinson. It’s a short, beautifully written book about a little girl who goes to live with her aunt after her mother commits suicide. I read it my junior year of college for my introductory creative writing class and absolutely loved it.

Other books I remember loving were Great Expectations which I read as a freshman in high school, and A Separate Peace which I read, I think, as a junior in high school. I can’t even begin to go through the books I read when I was in the MFA program. There were so many I’m sure to miss at least a million but Jazz by Toni Morrison, Fishing The Sloe-Black River  by Column McCann, and Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard stand out.

How about you? What was your favorite book that you had to read for a class?

17 thoughts on “YA Highway Road Trip Wednesday

  1. I LOVED The Outsiders. It was the first book I didn’t cheat for a book report. I couldn’t put it down. I think that is the first book that sparked my love for reading and writing.

  2. I loved ‘A Separate Peace’ (think I read that sophomore year — probably my favorite read from that year). I’ve never read ‘Housekeeping’ before — I’ll have to check that one out.

  3. Toni Morrison stood out to me too, especially The Bluest Eye. Also while in college, I got into Flannery O’Connor after reading A Good Man is Hard to Find and Everything That Rises Must Converge. In high school, I loved The Most Dangerous Game by Richard Connell and have read it so many times since. There was also A Sound of Thunder by Ray Bradbury that I read in tenth grade. In elementary school, the book that stood out to me the most was definitely The Pigman by Paul Zindel. I was so attached to those characters, although the sequel didn’t really do it for me. Rascal by Sterling North and Rikki-Tikki-Tavi by Rudyard Kipling also! Okay, I’ll stop now. Wait. I read Jip by Katherine Paterson in sixth grade and fell in love. Spies on the Devil’s Belt by Betsy Haynes in fourth grade. Eleventh grade’s most memorable book was Night by Elie Wiesel.The Kite Runner was great. I read that before my freshman year of college. My favorite childhood book was Upchuck and the Rotten Willy by Bill Wallace. Alright, enough. As you can tell, I really enjoyed your post. It brought back a lot of school memories. 🙂

  4. Housekeeping sounds like an interesting book. I may have to check it out. I’ve also heard great things about A Seperate Peace. Ah, so many books, so little time!

  5. Housekeeping sounds very interesting. I have a few favorites, but you know this. 🙂 I really did enjoy most of what I read in high school and college. My mother does not know why I didn’t major in English!

  6. I hadn’t heard of HOUSEKEEPING, but I’m intrigued!

    My husband read A SEPARATE PEACE in high school and insisted I read it upon finding out I hadn’t a few years back. Of course, I loved it. 🙂

  7. I remember being fascinated by Lord of the Flies, and wondering what the heck was wrong with British schoolboys and thinking that girls would never get that crazy 🙂

Leave a Reply

