Famous Writers on the Subject of Thanksgiving

Photo by Benn Wolfe

“I awoke this morning with devout thanksgiving for my friends, the old and new.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“I do not think of all the misery, but of the glory that remains. Go outside into the fields, nature and the sun, go out and seek happiness in yourself and in God. Think of the beauty that again and again discharges itself within and without you and be happy.” – Anne Frank

“I thank you God for most this amazing day: for the leaping greenly spirits of the trees and a blue dream of sky.” – E.E. Cummings

“Gratitude is a quality similar to electricity: it must be produced and discharged and used up in order to exist at all.” – William Faulkner

“O Lord that lends me life, Lend me a heart replete with thankfulness.” – William Shakespeare

“Great as the preparations were for the dinner, everything was so contrived that not a soul in the house should be kept from the morning service of Thanksgiving in the church.”- Harriet Beecher Stowe

Happy Turkey Day everyone! 

3 thoughts on “Famous Writers on the Subject of Thanksgiving

  1. I love Thanksgiving. It’s my favorite holiday. Though, I find it ironic how most people are thankful for this and that, and then the following day, Black Friday, they’re a bunch of selfish wild lunatics.

    I hope you had a happy one!

Leave a Reply

