The Write Despite Challenge

candy-cane-pen21Happy New Year everyone! If you’ve followed my blog for awhile, you probably know that I make the same resolution every year (to give up Diet Coke) and that I never make it past February. Well, it seems like it might be time to try something new this year, so I’ve decided to participate  in the Write Despite Challenge.  Click on the Candy Cane or here if you’re up for doing it with me.

Write Despite is the brainchild of Cathy and Karen, two of my fellow graduates from the George Mason University MFA program. Their challenge is to  write for twenty minutes a day. Just twenty. Despite whatever. I’m on my second day, now, and I’m happy to report that I’ve met the challenge both days.

 Are you thinking of doing the Write Despite Challenge? If not, do you have any other writing related New Year’s resolutions?

30 thoughts on “The Write Despite Challenge

  1. That sounds like an awesome resolution. I’d totally be there with you if I wasn’t expecting the biggest distraction from writing ever in the new few days/weeks! Best of luck with it! 🙂

  2. I love this idea! That’s a totally reasonable goal, and, of course, once you get rolling twenty minutes slips by quickly. I’ll have to try this! I’ve already met the goal for today 🙂

  3. That’s a great New Year’s Resolution! And it worked for me, too…2012 was finally the year I started writing every day, even if it was only a couple sentences in the midst of school work 🙂

  4. Oh, um, I LOVE that challenge. Is it too late to join? I’ll pop over and take a looksie. This is definitely something good for a new mom like me.

    Hey, why give up Diet Coke? Obviously it’s good for you, and you’d be able to quit it. At least, that’s my logic. It’s sound, right?

    • So nice to hear from you, Kris. I hope life with the new baby is going well. You can join in with Write Despite anytime. Just start counting from where you are. I’ve come to a similar conclusion with Diet Coke.

  5. Hmm, that 20 minutes a day thing sounds so doable, and yet I still can’t seem to commit~ I’m a bit of a commitment-phobe when it comes to setting that kind of writing goal (I know, it’s only 20 minutes, but with my new little one, I’m feeling the pressure to get a routine down with her first). I’m more of a spread-things-across-a-whole-week kind of girl, so I can give myself days to miss writing without feeling guilty 🙂 Oh, and the Diet Coke thing? I know pop is bad for you, but Diet Coke is SO GOOD! It’s my go-to pop of choice. I like the taste much more than sugary Coca-cola.

Leave a Reply

