Five For Friday

10887656_17ca839617_o

Photo by Paul Downey

1. I’m still doing the Write Despite challenge. I’m  18 days in now. Only 334 left to go!

2. I  finally signed up to take the free Gotham class I won during the YA Discovery Contest. I chose poetry. I always meant to take a poetry class when I was in the MFA program, but it never worked out with my schedule. More about this later as the class gets going.

3. I’m reading From Where You Dream by Robert Olen Butler which is a fantastically interesting book. It’s all about Butler’s method which involves going into a writing trance and writing from your unconscious mind. Fascinating stuff!

4. I’ve gone back to my yoga class after two months off with a broken toe. To celebrate that, I bring you this link about yoga and how it can boost creativity from Mind Body Green Magazine.

5. I’ve got a new button on my sidebar that I’m pretty excited about. Can you find it? It’s the one that says: Add my blog to your Google Reader. The very kind Elodie at CommutingGirl talked me through the process of installing it. Thanks Elodie!

Happy Friday everyone! I hope you enjoy your weekend.

16 thoughts on “Five For Friday

  1. Oooh, a poetry class. I’ve never been that great with poetry, but my sister loves it. Hope you have fun and learn a lot.

  2. Good luck with your poetry class! I would like to get into yoga. I feel very confident that I would only slightly suck at it.

  3. That book sounds fascinating! I love the idea of a writing trance. Adding it to my TBR list. I have a “goal” (not a resolution) of doing yoga this year some time. I’ve been too chicken to try it with other people. Maybe I should start with a DVD at home. 🙂

  4. Good job sticking with the Write Despite challenge. I have not. i’ve missed days. I also haven’t been writing fresh stuff. I need to finish this (*&^ book. As much fun as it would be to write something new, I have to do the hard thing. My New Years Resolution is to read a new short story each week.

  5. I’ve toyed with the idea of taking a poetry class, though I can’t decide if I’d do one studying poetry or writing poetry first (so, I’d like to do both ultimately). I think both would be extremely beneficial. Let us know how your class goes!

Leave a Reply

