What’s Up Wednesday

wuw-winter-flake

What’s Up Wednesday is the brain child of Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk. Join the fun on your own blog and then go to Jaime’s or Erin’s to add your link – it’s a great way to share what’s going on in your life and get to know other bloggers!

What I’m Reading:

My daughter and I are reading Savvy by Ingrid Law together, and I’m really enjoying it. It’s a middle grade novel about a girl who receives a supernatural power on her thirteenth birthday. It’s fun and original, and there is a nice rolling rhythm to the prose that makes it perfect for reading out loud.

What I’m Writing: I just finished checking through Bright Coin Moon again from beginning to end, and I turned it into my editor last Friday. This week, my projects so far have been more writing related than actual writing, but hopefully that will change as I get more done.

What Inspires Me Right Now: Spring. I know its around the corner. The polar vortex and Winter Storm Titan and the freezing cold have been fun and all, but I’m really looking forward to some warm weather.

IMG_4313

What Else I’ve Been Up To: Snow. Plenty of it. Another big storm came through here, and the kids have been off from school for days. Below is a picture of my yard right now, so you can see how it compares to my yard in the what inspires me photo. We’re still sledding and drinking hot chocolate and having fun around here, just not  as much.

IMG_4630

Keep warm and have a great week!

35 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. It keeps switching between 60 degree days and snow here~ I wish it would just choose a season and quit teasing us. Glad you and your daughter are enjoying Savvy~ I love that book!

  2. I am so done with winter. It’s supposed to be 50 already by this time of year in DC. They say it’s supposed to get warm this weekend although we look to be getting another cold snap next week. Bah, how am I supposed to work in my garden like this? The ground’s still frozen solid!

  3. Ugh, so tired of snow. I may have to add Savvy to my list for my niece to read in a few years. I’m so book-obsessed I don’t just have my own TBR-list, I have one for her, too 🙂

  4. I hear you on the snow thing. It’s currently trying its hardest to snow out right now. I’m starting to get super antsy for some spring weather! SAVVY sounds great. I like stories with prose that just flows like that. 🙂

  5. I am so ready for the snow and cold to be gone. Love that gorgeous picture of the flowers and the butterfly. I can’t wait until it finally looks like that here, which will be quite a while yet.

    I hope your writing projects go well this week, whether that means drafting or all the other finicky stuff!

  6. Summer here in Australia wasn’t that great either. Hotter than normal and then pouring with rain. It’s now raining and cloudy when it should still be a bit warmer. We had hot weather till May last year. But not this time around. I am not looking forward to Winter.

    Have a great week.

  7. Yay for books you can read aloud! They said in the paper today that we Canadians are going to have a wintry March, until Spring makes a sudden arrival near the end! I can hardly wait.

  8. I can’t wait for spring! And not just because it means my birthday is approaching 🙂 Congrats on turning Bright into your editor. Here’s hoping the snow melts soon, but you don’t stop enjoying the hot chocolate!

  9. I have an idea for a MG novel, and what you say about SAVVY’s “rolling rhythm” that “makes it perfect for reading out loud” strikes me as something to bear in mind. Rhythm is an important consideration with writing anyway, but this is perhaps all the more important with picture book and middle grade, since those novels are more likely to be read aloud (in classrooms, at bed time, etc.). Thanks for that, Kirsten!

    Have a great week. 🙂

  10. Very exciting to finish checking through a manuscript and turn it in! Writing related writing is still writing, and still important.

    I read SAVVY back in 2010 and still remember it vividly. I loved the voice and the story, and the sweet little hints at romance. True, wonderful Middle Grade!

  11. We got 7 more inches of snow a couple days ago. Ugh! It’s amazing how much your attitude changes from that first snowfall of the season when it all looks so beautiful to the 20th snowfall of the season (or at least it seems like we’ve had that many!). My daughter just started reading Savvy, too. It looks like a good one. Have a great week, Kirsten!

  12. Wow, it’s been a long time since I checked in with your blog so I don’t know if you’ll remember me, but I remember you and I’m so excited for you about Bright Coin Moon! The Publishers Marketplace blurb sounds great. Can’t wait until it’s out and I can read it! 🙂 Congratulations!!

  13. WOW you’ve gotten inundated with snow this winter. Hopefully spring will come soon! We’ve had a pretty mild winter here, but I’m still itching for warm weather and green, growing things. Hooray on your edits for Bright Coin Moon! That’s so exciting.

Leave a Reply

