Howl-O-Scream

IMG_1702The family and I kicked off the Halloween season at Busch Gardens this past weekend. If you haven’t been, it’s a huge amount of fun.

During the day, the park was fairly quiet. There were hardly any lines, which was nice, and the kids were able to ride their favorite things a few times. It began to get a little more crowded in the early evening, though, as people began to arrive for Howl-O-Scream.

When the sun went down, eerie music started up and odd characters materialized on the street. We didn’t actually go into any of the haunted houses out of fear of terrifying my youngest daughter, but we managed to find enough festivities to keep us busy. We saw the Monster Stomp show, which the kids loved, then we went to the Blood Banquet. We sat down at an outdoor table and watched the very entertaining Count Vlad perform while we dined on Casket Club Chili, Cemetery Tossed Salad and Bloodied Cherry Cobbler.

When the show was over, we left. Unlike the vampires and the goblins who had flown in for the evening festivities, we’d been there since the park opened that morning, and we were exhausted. We posed for one last family picture with a zombie before we headed out.IMG_1723 IMG_1726IMG_1725

8 thoughts on “Howl-O-Scream

  1. So cute! It doesn’t seem like that long ago that my kids were that age. I remember having to stay away from a local haunted house because my youngest daughter was afraid.

    And even though I’m a big fan of fruit desserts, I’m not sure I could bring myself to eat “bloodied cherry cobbler”!

  2. That looks like fun! It’s nice that they had some fun stuff that wasn’t too scary so you could still enjoy with your youngest. I’m kind of a wimp when it comes to haunted houses – I would’ve stuck with the fun, cute kid stuff. 🙂

  3. So much fun! I went to Howl-O-Scream when I was a teenager and it was amazing. Busch Gardens is definitely one of the coolest amusement parks I’ve been to. The only thing I hate is when the characters hide and jump out at you. No thanks to that, please.

Leave a Reply

